It’s all Relative

It’s Wednesday! That means we are halfway to the weekend, and that is definitely something to cheer about in my book. So far my week has been plugging right along. I feel on top of my homework and I have made it through all my workouts this week!

Workouts:
Monday: NROLFW Stage 1 workout 4A
Tuesday: 3 mile tempo run- 1/2 mile warm up, 2 miles @ 9:20 pace, 1/2 mile cool down

Now I know that a 9:20 pace would be a snails pace for most people, but for me this is a huge victory! My “comfortable jog” pace is 11:30 which i know some people could walk faster than that. However, I am a firm believer that it doesn’t matter how fast you run, it just matters that you are out there pushing yourself and staying active!

I also know from my exercise science classes that everyone has a different VO2 max (basically the maximum oxygen you can take in during a maximum exertion). This means that effort and pace is relative. I know this is a basic concept but there is actual science behind it! I just find this so interesting (this is the exercise science nerd inside me). Basically, exercise levels are based at a percentage of your VO2 max. So a 100m all out sprint would be at 90-95% of your VO2 max, a jog might be at 60% of your VO2 max. This is a different pace for everyone. So someone who is running a 12 minute mile my be pushing themselves to do that just as hard as someone else running a 6 minute mile because of their different VO2 max levels.

Okay enough science talk, basically I’m saying that running 9:20 pace for two miles for me felt like I was sprinting lol it’s all relative!

My favorite breakfast this week has been oatmeal and fresh fruit. Yum!

20130227-111900.jpg

Well I’m done with class for today so I’m about ready to hit the gym for the evening!

What are some of your proud running moments? I would love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

